Artsy Fartsy stuff

I found myself a bit bored.  Nothing I really feel like reviewing as there is not much new out of interest.  Coming soon-ish, I will have reviews of older books I have either recently found or re read.  But for the moment, something pretty.

I was looking through some older, more obscure books and found some great art I thought might be fun to post.

Before Fables and Jack of Fables was a great series by Bill Willingham called The Elementals.  Published by Comico this was a cutting edge book for its day.  Humor, adventure and drama in one of the most unusual books on the stands. This is a “swimsuit issue” drawing of the character Morningstar published in Amazing Heroes.

Morningstar

Then there is Gilbert Hernandez.  If you don’t know him, shame on you.  Feel guilty?  Good.  Now go buy Love and Rockets.  This is Errata Stigmata, on of the cast from that book.  This is another swimsuit shot.

Errata Stigmata by Gilbert Hernandez

In the 80’s there was a real renaissance of established artist taking advantage of the higher quality printing available.  Frank Miller did Ronin and Mike Grell had Green Arrow: The Longbow Hunters.  Before that though, he had a creator owned property called Jon Sable, Freelance published by First Comics.  This is Myke Blackmon from that series.  Bonus points to anyone that remembers the short-lived TV series based on that title!

Myke Blackmon by Mike Grell

This next bit is one of the original sketches in my small collection.  In fact, it was one of the first I collected.  I was at a signing in Madison Wi. and had the opportunity to meet Dave Sim of Cerebus fame, and James Owen, creator of Starchild.  As with most books from the great black and white era of comics, this was a book plagued by delays and printing problems.  It limped along for a few years and very few issues, but while it lasted, Owen managed to put a lot of fine storytelling and art as well as a good deal of clever parody.

And wrapping up for now, a couple of images from a book I think no one but I read.  If you are reading this, then the title of the book will seem familiar.  When I was picking a name for this blog, I wanted a reference that was obscure enough to not be all that obvious and still have multiple meanings, not just a comic book one.

Published by Neotek Iconography in the early 90’s, this was the brainchild of C. Brent Ferguson.  It combined the early cyberpunk stylings and attitude with a heaping helping of critique on modern religion, pop culture penetration and fear of the growing technology all waiting to burst free in the decade that saw the birth of the internet as a populist device.  It was only intended as a three-issue series and was ultimately very successful in meeting its goals.  Sometimes a bit amateur, as many books were then, this book is well worth searching out.  It shows what we were afraid of (albeit metaphorically) and where the comic medium was soon to venture, both good and bad.

Terminal Drift #1

Self congratulatory add from the back of the first issue.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Artsy Fartsy stuff

  1. Brandon

    I hadn’t made the Terminal Drift connection, but I’ve got that book somewhere stashed in a box. It was one I was really eager for because it reminded me of something a friend drew for me during high school. It hit the mark in that regard, but it also was a little too much like something created by amateur high school students. Now I’ve got to dig it out, and take another look at it.

    • It is far from my favorite series, but it has its charms.
      You mention boxes of books. have you cataloged them yet? I use comic collector. It is really pretty good software. Access based and easy to use and very snazzy lookin.

Leave a Reply

